current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

After Prom and yet another "You've got to be kidding me!"
2004-05-25, 9:31 p.m.

Well, I survived after Prom. It was such a blast. And they DID have a mechanical bull, but I never got to ride it. Bummer.

They also had these giant tricycles, those big sumo wrestler suits, a huge blow-up obstacle course, a jousting ring and the list just goes on..... Too bad they didn't have stuff like that when I was in high school.

So, I hung out until about 2:15 then had to go. If I couldn't win any prizes or play w/ any of the stuff, no way was I hanging around til 5:00am!!

Ok, so things have still been going ok w/ family, except my dad now has an infection and can't go back for the next round of his experimental treatment. I think he's a little relieved. That treatment threw him for a loop. He said it was by far the most miserable experience of his life. Poor guy. Cancer sucks.

So anyways, on a much smaller scale, we had another it-could-only- happen-to-my-husband thing. The neighbor's son has a basketball backboard, one of those ones you can move, but then when it's where you want it to be you put water or sand in the base to weight it down. Got it? So it usually lays across my neighbor's little patch of front yard and she was telling my husband she might need to borrow him to move it so that she could cut her grass.

So....my hubs decided Friday night to move it. Now, she hadn't asked him to move it, but he did it. He said her son had been going to the hoop across the street since he can't put his up. (Those suckers are heavy.) So he decided to be the nice guy and put it up so the son can play on his own hoop, and the neighbor can cut her grass. Ok.

So I get home from my nephew's baseball game and Alan is being a big jerk. I tell him I'm horribly sorry I woke him up (dripping w/ sarcasm) and he says that's not what the problem is. Ok, real quick I need to say that we live in a cul-de-sac, and we're right on the end. So directly in front of our place is the court, which is where he put the hoop. Anyhoo, our neighbors across the street had visitors and they parked, you guessed it, in the court, right under the hoop.

I'm guessing you've figured it out by now. The stupid basketball hoop fell over onto the stupid car. The guy says the wind blew it over. We're still trying to figure out exactly who is responsible for this. The only one who we know is free and clear is the next door neighbor, since we moved it w/out her asking us.

On the one hand, I'm thinking we put a non-stationary object in the street - our fault. Then I'm thinking, he's the fool who parked under it - his fault. Plus, he said the wind blew it over - act of God? If it were a TREE we planted it wouldn't be our fault, right?

So, I don't know. Anyone?

last - next


0 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!