current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

Homecoming happenings
2004-10-19, 9:33 p.m.

Phew! Wow, have I been busy. That's so unlike my usual life that I'm not sure I can handle it.

Ok, so I got homecoming out of the way. It was a very trying time. First, it rained Thursday night and all day Friday and it turns out the tarp came off our float. Well, that didn't work too well w/ the paper mache on the float. By the time the float got to the field it was, er, shredded. But our very capable V.P. got it fixed up. Then, we couldn't get the fog machine to work, not enough power. So we just strung orange tube lights to simulate the lava for the volcano. (Uh, have I mentioned what our float was? We did a Survivor theme, in case I didn't mention it. We had tiki torches and a volcano and all kinds of cool stuff.)

Oh, so wait. I should back up to before the float got there. I got to the field early. The first float that got there had some technical difficulties on the trip there and kind of fell apart. There were pieces of it leaning against the fence, the trailer, etc. So since I'm such a helpful person (and bored out of my mind) I go over to offer my expertise. Well, about the same time the wind picked up a little and knocked one of the plywood sections over. It knocked it over on my leg. Yeah, it hurt. I hobbled out of the way and wondered if I could get worker's comp for it.

Ok, then our float got there, it was shredded, it got fixed, yada yada yada, and then bada-bing, we won 2nd place float! YES! We rock! It was very cool, and an awesome moment for the girls.

Ok, so after the game I go to chaperone the Homecoming dance. Yikes! It's the last time I chaperone a dance. Seriously. What a gross and disgusting sight. I swear, if those kids weren't clothed they'd all be pregnant. After about 30 minutes of witnessing this, this, upright orgy I was saved by the dance organizer. They needed someone to wand people at the door. Oh yeah! That's got me written all over it. They gave me the security wand, the 30-second lesson on wanding, and turned me loose! I was a wanding fool, I tell ya! I had a really good time with it. I think all wanders should be so cool as I was :).

Ok, this has gone on long enough. As a final note, the back of my calf is one huge bruise. It's nasty. I should take a picture and post it. It's my war wound. Proof that I survived the wild world that is homecoming.

last - next


2 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!