current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

I really hate being a computer idiot
2004-12-04, 9:16 p.m.

Ugh. I do some work for my step-dad so I can earn a little extra money. It involves pulling information off the net. Well, several weeks ago, just out of the blue, my idiot computer stopped printing from web sites. I can cut & paste to word, which works for one of the things I have to do. But I can't cut & paste for the two other things I do. This is soooo freaking annoying.

So, I've been going to my parents' house & doing 2/3 of the work there. Well I'm over there tonight when Fedex stops by. My mom gets all excited & calls me to the front door. Well what do we have but a brand new printer. For me. It's just so beautiful. Against my will, I try to tell her that I don't think it's a printer problem, but she just said try it. So I'm home, and the printer is just so wonderful, snif, but it has to go back. *Sob* You should see the quality pics this thing is popping out. But, like even my techno-deprived self knew, it still won't print from the internet. WTF!! I'm so ticked off about this. I'm so frustrated, because I'm so computer challenged that I can't fix this. It doesn't seem like anything hard. Anyone out there with talent have any clues?? I've spent literally hours on the computer trying to find the answer. AAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!

In other news, the minister at the church I just recently transferred my membership to called the other night and asked if the noodlehead & I would light an Advent candle at church tomorrow. Oh, and read a verse. I said yes to the candle-lighting and no to the verse-reading. No thanks. I told him I'm shy. There was a pause on his end, but then he said Ok, he'd read the verse. I'm thinking he doesn't believe me about the shy thing. I considered doing it, but I looked the verse up and it involves the word "repentance". When I said it out loud I sounded like an idiot. I sounded like a computer-generated voice, or a robot or something. I really can't describe it. It made me laugh. It made my mom laugh. It made my little noodlehead laugh. So no, uh uh, no way am I reading that. As it is, I'll probably laugh when the minister reads it.

I had an eye doctor's appt. today. This man was so cute. Not in a "wow, he's cute" way. More like an absent-minded professor/Rainman cute way. He walked kind of hunched, even though he's probably only in his 50's. He was so scatterbrained, shuffling papers around and muttering to himself. I was waiting for him to say, "Definitely K-mart. Definitely." He actually did use the word definitely several times, but not in a Rainman way. He'd say, "Is THIS one better, or it's definitely worse, isn't it?" And I'd say, "Definitely." Then he'd turn around, muttering the numbers that he just read. He was doing it during Amanda's appt, and I was thinking what a genius he was with kids. That is, until he talked to me the same way. "Can you read the fourth line, or is it too SMAAAAAAALLLLLL?" "Oh, it's NOT too small. Ahhhhhh, yes - you need some glasses. 20/80. Oh, 20/80. Yes, you'll need glasses. 20/80. 20/80. Oh you'll notice a difference. You'll definitely need glasses." All this while shuffling papers. Very nutty professorish. But charming, though.

So Amanda needs glasses. She's the 20/80. My vision is way much worse. Let's not even go there. My lovely dog has eaten my glasses, though, so I'll need new ones. I haven't actually worn glasses in forever, though, because they were an old prescription. But the nutty prof said I need to stop wearing my contacts as long as I do. I wear them 16-18 hours a day. He said I'm hurting my eyes. So guess two sets of glasses will be going on the list of things I need but can't afford. Well, Amanda will get hers. Maybe after we sell the house I'll get me a nifty new pair.

Ok, so how boring did I just get? Guess I'll search a little while longer for the stupid printing problem so that I can keep my wonderful new printer. I'm watching The Replacements for the umpteenth time on tv. I just love this movie. I'm not a great fan of Keanu Reeves, but I do love this movie. Okey doke, until next time! Update: I'm STILL trying to get my printer working. I just joined a web nerds help site. I've asked my question. I'm impatiently waiting for my answer. I want instant gratification. I'm hoping these guys are serious nerds, and they just hang out at the site waiting for someone to post. Several other people have had this problem, but none of the advice helped me. We'll see what happens. In the meantime, The Replacements is over and now I'm watching The Whole Nine Yards. I really like this movie, too. :D Toodle-loo!

last - next


3 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!