current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

Never say die(t)
2004-07-12, 3:03 p.m.

Well, I'm starting a diet today. I'm going to do the Weight Watchers point system thing. Now you have to understand that I don't generally do things the way other people do. I know many people have lost loads of weight on this diet. My best bud has lost 60 lbs., so I know it works. So, if I fail at this diet, it in no way should reflect poorly on Weight Watchers. I just wanted to get that out of the way, because I've decided I'm doing this diet, but since I'm not going to WW, I don't reckon I'll actually be doing it right.

So you see, I want to do the diet, I just don't want to pay them per week to go & have some stranger weigh me, then give me 'the look' if I happened to gain a lb or two. Then they'll want to look at my diet journal, and probably I won't have all the days filled out. Or I will & they'll see the Cheetos listed or the the numerous Dr. Peppers (3 pts. each, baby!!) or the Jr. Mints, then they'll have to have a talk w/ me about using my points wisely. Or why I don't have any vegetables listed. (ACK! Can't stand vegetables!) The problem is, I've been eating like a teenager my entire life. That's a hard habit to break. Sometimes I have ice cream or brownies for breakfast. And lunch almost always consists of a processed meat sandwich and some type of chips. And I drink, oh, 5 or 6 Dr. Peppers a day. This is not going to be easy, but I'm pretty determined. I think this might be the diet for me. So I have a points booklet, I know how many points a day I'm aiming for, and I have a diet journal. I also have a points calculator thingy and a fast food points booklet. What more do I need?? I'm gonna save my $10.95 per week and weigh myself, thank you very much. And if I have Doritos listed, well I'll tell myself sometimes you just need Doritos.

So, today is my first day & it's going ok. I had some really nasty Kashi high fiber cereal & some fat free skim milk for breakfast. It was gross, but I've had worse. Four points. Then my mom comes by and says she wants to take us out for lunch (I had two of my nephews & my niece, plus my kid). Great. On my first day. So I had a Hardee's grilled chicken sandwich and a small coke. Normally 11 pts, but I took off one point because I only ate 2/3 of the sandwich, so I didn't think I should have to use 8 points if I didn't eat the whole friggin' thing, right? I didn't eat ANY french fries, which is like a miracle for me. Then I get home & realize I haven't had any fruits or vegetables, and you're supposed to have like 5 servings a day. And of course I don't eat vegetables (ACK!), so I guess I have to eat fruit for dinner. Then I also remembered I'm supposed to drink 6 glasses of water a day, and I really hate water. So I'm drinking Crystal Light Orange-Strawberry-Banana drink. It's really good. I'm counting it as my water, since it's mostly water.

So I'm guessing you can see how I can't really follow the diet exactly like I'm supposed to. But I'm pretty close, right? I think this diet might work, too, 'cuz there's no restrictions on what you can eat, as long as you don't go over your point for the day. And I can have 22-25 points a day. So I know that doesn't leave me too many for dinner, but I'll figure my way around that. Oh, and as a bonus, my mom said she'd give me 100 bucks if I lose 20 pounds! How cool is that?

I'll let you know how things go, ok?

last - next


0 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!