current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

You gotta love teenagers.
2004-09-14, 10:00 p.m.

Well hell. I'm getting really bad about updating again. Plus, I've been reading my friend Treesssa's diary and it looks so friggin' awesome I don't even like looking at mine any more.

Ok, so I'm done bitching. I'm back at school and I'd forgotten how much I like teenagers. Today we were talking about using mnemonic devices to help you remember stuff. Anyone remember Roy G Biv for colors in the spectrum?? So today, specifically, we were talking about order of operations. Anyone remember that math stuff? I barely do. So the mnemonic to remember order of operations is PEMDAS (parentheses, exponents, muliplication, division, addition, subtraction). The kids today just say it like it looks, pem-das. (I know this is boring math stuff, but it does get better, I promise.) So the teacher I work w/ & I are telling them about Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally to help them remember. And so DA says, "Man, that might work for you white folks but people where I'm from don't have no aunt sally. We need something like Please Excuse My Dumb Ass Sister."

I think he's on to something, cuz I guarantee not one kid in that room (or me) will ever forget order of operations again. It's good to be back.

last - next


0 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!