current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

I HATE being one-upped!
2004-11-23, 7:10 p.m.

I'm not getting a lot of sleep these days. My mind just functions so much better at night. Like, as soon as my head hits the pillow, unfortunately. So I lay in bed and I think. Usually I have my better ideas at night. Sometimes, though, I'm just so tired that the solution to my problems tends to hinge on the alien abduction of my husband.

So my alarm goes off (three times) this morning, and I drag myself out of bed. For the past three weeks it's been like this. I don't usually have to drag myself out of bed. I love my job. I'm just so tired. And I haven't been feeling too hot lately, either. So, I'm taking my child to school, AGAIN, because AGAIN, we're late and she didn't catch the bus, and I'm thinking about how tired I am. And how I'm not feeling too well. And that maybe, just maybe, I should leave a little early today. Go home, be by myself, and just rest or veg on the couch watching bad daytime tv.

I continue thinking along these lines as the teacher I work with walks into the class. Not wanting to jump right into how I'm not feeling so hot and I want to go home, I do the polite thing and ask her how she's feeling. Well, she wasn't feeling too well last night so she ran up to the doc in a box and turns out she has diverticulitis. Now, I don't even know what the hell that is, but I know it tops my meager little offering. Well damn. If she came to work doped up on antibiotics, I sure the heck can't ask to leave because I'm tired. I really hate when someone out-illnesses me when I want to go home! :)

Oh well, who am I to complain. We have early release tomorrow and then four days off. I'm pretty sure I can handle it.

Ok, in other news, turns out a kid brought a gun to school today. That was pretty interesting. In keeping with school policy, I must point out that the gun was not loaded, and at no point was any child in harm's way. Several people asked if it was one of our kids, because of course only an emotionally disturbed special ed student would do such a thing, right? I just tell them our kids aren't that stupid. They just bring drugs to school. ;)

Now for some interesting local news. Ok, when I first heard them announce this, I initially laughed. I couldn't help it, it just sounded funny. I realize it's a very serious crime, but still. Ok, the announcer says, "A 13-year old has been arrested for abducting an exotic dancer." Come on, that's funny. I was like, "Well, duh. What 13 year old wouldn't?" He abducted her by gunpoint, though, so I'm sure it was a very frightening ordeal. ANY person ANY age with a gun would frighten me. But seriously, that first line was funny. You know you think so, too.

Alrighty, that's all the news I have for today. Tomorrow's busy. I have to hit the snooze button three times, drag myself out of bed, and put up with four hours of school, the last two being dedicated to the watching of "Elf" while eating pizza and chips. I know, I know, it's a tough life, but someone has to live it.

last - next


7 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!