current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

There's HOW many shopping days?
2004-12-08, 11:06 p.m.

I have accomplished absolutely nothing this evening. I was supposed to go to my mom’s house to clean, but I got sidetracked by a going out of business sale. *Oh, note to driver in front of me all the way down Mt. Pleasant Rd: As you travel at night, occasionally white, roundish objects that glow will come towards you. Usually there are two, sometimes there is only one. These are called HEADLIGHTS. They are attached to the front of the vehicle in the OTHER LANE, going the OPPOSITE DIRECTION from you. This is normal. It will happen. Do Not Panic. You DO NOT have to hit your brakes every time these objects come near you. Trust me.*

Ok, so at the going out of business sale I got my daughter’s teacher’s gift (jar candle); the teacher assistant’s gift (jar candle - ya’ll, don’t forget your child’s teacher’s assistant - they work very hard for very little pay - trust me :D) ; the intern’s gift (smaller jar candle - hey, it’s a high school kid getting out of class for a couple hours); a partial gift for my step-dad (garden ornament); a birthday gift for my 8 year old cousin (stuffed animal); a very small stuffed animal for Amanda, cuz she’s spoiled like that; a key lanyard for my dad; and a new apt. gift for ME (candle warmer & tarts). I got all this for $45 that I don’t have. I thought that was pretty good. Needless to say, by the time I left the store it was too late to clean my mom’s house because I had to get Amanda home to do her homework and take a shower.

On my way into my house I THOUGHT I had a good grip on my bags, but guess what? I didn’t. (Sure you didn’t see THAT coming.) I dropped a bag. It only had one item in it. I heard the shattering of glass and had a good feeling what it was that broke. Wanna guess? It was my candle warmer. Of course. I was actually relieved, because it was only two bucks. So I don’t have to go reshopping for Christmas gifts.

My child had a minor meltdown tonight that I won’t go into, but it was ugly. Her emotions are so out of whack, and of course Alan can’t deal with it. He went off on her. I, as usual, stepped in. She was a wreck. She was just sobbing, sucking in deep, wrenching breaths. She begged me to move to grandma’s until we had our own place. I just want this all to be over with. I hate that, too. I want to rush the holiday just to get to the point where we can get this house sold, and that’s not like me. I LOVE Christmas, even though we never have the money to do it the way I’d like to. Sigh. One day at a time, right?

On a positive note, it’s 3 weeks exactly until my baby turns 10. I can’t believe it. She asked me if we could get a limo. I asked her if she was on crack. Ok, I didn’t really. But I told her limos were expensive. She said, “But mom, it’s my tenth birthday. That’s a special one.” I told her they were all special. That didn’t really help, ha ha. I told her maybe we’d rent a hotel room down at the oceanfront. She could take a friend. The rooms are really cheap during the off season, and how beautiful would that be? We could get one with an indoor pool. That would be a blast. That DID help.

So, it’s after 11:00 and my alarm’s going to go off at 5:30. Guess this is it for me. Until next time!

last - next


3 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!