current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

Duplex Divas
2004-12-09, 10:12 p.m.

I was on my way home tonight after my umpteenth dentist appointment of the year when my cell phone rings. This is truly an odd thing, because I very seldom remember to have my cell phone with me. And ON? Truly a miracle.

So it's my mom. I believe I've mention it before - my parents (mom & step-dad) are real estate agents. Mom was on the real estate listing site and found a duplex not too far down the road from me. She was calling to see if I wanted to go see it. I said heck yeah, and headed that way. I beat my mom there, so I walked all around, trying to look in the windows. I couldn't see a thing, it was pitch black. But the backyard is a pretty nice size, even though you have to share it with the neighbors. (This is a side by side duplex. There's a single entrance at the front that leads into a little foyer area, then two doors leading into the separate living areas.)

So my mom gets there and we go to the door on the left. It's a cute little two BR, 1 bath place. Decent size living room, ok size kitchen with a fairly decent pantry. Cabinets are dark and have seen better days. Tiny little laundry room off the kitchen, with a door that leads to the backyard. The bathroom is alright, nothing beautiful. One small bedroom with two smallish closets, and one decent size bedroom with a walk-in. Not really any room for a dining room table, unless you want to put it in the living room.

Well........... I love it!! It's just perfect for me & the girl. If the owner would let me do a little painting (cabinets), and with a colorful throw rug (bathroom), it won't be half bad. We could put a little bistro-like two seater table against this one wall just outside of the kitchen. It would be so adorable!! And even closer to work, and I was already pretty darn close.

So my mom said she had already talked to the agent, who is also the owner, and kind of explained the situation. The woman was very understanding, says my mom. So we get done looking and start to leave when I decided, wouldn't it be fun to look at the OTHER half? It's been rented, but it's vacant at the moment. Mom agrees it would be a good idea. So I looked. I like the one I'm looking at better, even though they appear to be mirror-images of each other. For some reason the right side seems backwards. So we lock up and start to leave when I notice we left a light on. I try to get back in. The key won't fit. Oh crap! It's then that my mom realizes she didn't actually UNLOCK the interior doors, only the shared main entrance. Uh oh. And we locked the other side, too, so now the woman will know we're not only idiots, we're snoops, too!!

Oh well. I get home and call her. I tell her I looked at the place, then I confess to locking the door. Singular. I figure she can discover the snooping on her own. Hey, we're women, ok? We're a little nosy. Ok, so then I tell her I absolutely love the place. We talk for a few minutes. I tell her where I work. Now, the very funny thing is if you tell someone you work in special ed, with emotionally disturbed teenagers, they automatically think you're this wonderful person. I use this belief to my advantage at every opportunity. Especially times like this.

So, to make a short story long :D, I GOT THE PLACE!!! I go tomorrow to sign the lease!! It's only $795 a month, which is unbelievably great for this area. The apartment I was looking at is $835!! So YAY for me & the girl!!

I immediately called my mom and my sisters. We were all excited. We all did a happy dance. I tried very hard to be low-key around Alan, as he very much hoped to get a duplex on that street. I'm sorry, but the girl comes first. I do feel bad, truly, but oh well. I DID scream when I hung up the phone. I think I screamed I GOT THE HOUSE!! But I got myself under control pretty quick. I think.

Alan had to leave to get fitted for a tux for his brother's wedding this weekend. As soon as he left Amanda & I jumped around the room for a little while. We move in January 1st. How cool. And how fitting. A new year, a new start. She ran off upstairs to watch tv. I immediately burst into tears! The reality hit me. I have a place to live. I have to sell my house. I have to find a way to actually PAY for the new place that I can't afford. Holy cow! Am I crazy? What have I done?

Ok, so the crying got done with pretty quick. I'm not in to dragging things out. Things are just falling into place, so I'm going to keep praying that they just KEEP falling into place like this. Everything else is working for the best, right? So shouldn't a job follow? Right? RIGHT??

Phew. Ok, that's it. I'm going to sleep now. I've worn myself out!

last - next


8 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!