current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

Huh
2005-08-21, 2:36 p.m.

Since Bob is out of town, I had lunch with Mike yesterday. I met him there so I could go school shopping afterwards. Amanda's w/ her dad, so I can school shop in peace. I hate taking her shopping, because she's impossible to find clothes for. Well, pants, anyways. I go armed w/ my tape measure. I shopped for 4 hours. Wanna know how many pairs of pants I bought?

Zero. Zilch. Zip.

The child has a 22 inch waist and a 27 inch inseam. There are no pants out there anywhere that fit. On my way out of Kohl's I had to pass the boys section. Hmmmmmmm, I wonder........ Nah, better not. I probably could have gotten away with that when she was younger, but 5th grade? Nah. Although I wonder about Junior sizes. Hmm..... I'll have to check it out. She's not label conscious yet, but that could all change once school starts. She did tell me that my niece informs her in 5th grade you have to wear Vans. I told her I wore Vans in school, how cool could they be? (For those of you who don't know - pretty cool, actually. They've come a long way from the checkerboard Jeff Spicoli shoes of the '80's.)

So lunch is over, thankfully, because Mike kept talking about his hypoglycemia. Whining, actually. Yes, I know, I'm being really insensitive. But I just can't handle incessant whining. Yes, I understand you waited too long to eat, but you're hypoglycemic - do you not have an excess of peanut butter crackers? I know I sure did during my pregnancy when I had blood sugar issues.

Ok, maybe my insensitivity stems from the fact that, as I myself incessantly whined about, I don't want to keep dating two men. So I'm thinking, subconciously I already decided Mike needs to go. I sat through lunch the entire time and asked myself questions like, "Is he always this whiny?" and "Why did I think he was so gorgeous?"

PLUS - and this is the biggest sin in my book - he told me to shush! The noive! We were talking about online dating. I mean, for Pete's sake, that's how we flippin' met in the first place. So I was talking about a particularly bad date I had where the guy, on our first date, bought ONE drink at the movies. ONE DRINK. Ick. I thought it was gross and tacky all at once, especially since I offered to pay for the drinks & popcorn and he absolutely refused to let me. That was early on in my online dating experience. My first one, actually. I would have handled it much differently now.

But I digress. I'm telling Mike about this date and he leans in and whispers, "Shhhh, the people at that table keep looking over." So?? What's the big freaking deal? I said, "Huh, I wonder what their problem is." That was all. But it made me think maybe Mike's a little embarrassed about this whole online dating thing. Which is stupid. What's the difference between that and picking someone up in a bar? Or a grocery store, or a ballgame. What does it matter where you meet? Either that, or it embarrassed him that they were looking at us. I mean, I'm not a loud person. We were the only ones on that side of the restaraunt. Maybe I was more interesting than them. It doesn't matter, it bugged me that he wanted me to be quiet. I don't really care if someone is staring at me. I can't be with someone who worries about what strangers think.

Anyways, so lunch is over and he says, "Ready to go school shopping?" Like we're going together. I don't think so. I said, "Yep, thanks for lunch. I'll talk to you later." I know, probably insensitive again. My ex did once accuse me of being a cold-hearted bitch. Ah well, I never invited him to shop with me, and it's sure not a given that we do everything together. I haven't even been seeing him all that long. So I went shopping.

So last night I'm online putting my resume on monster.com. I get an email from Bob. He had to go out of town because his grandma had fallen in her home & wasn't found for TWO DAYS! Poor lady. She was ok, but they were putting her in a nursing home for her own safety. He wanted to go out to help with that, check the place out, settle her in - that kind of stuff. Awwwww. (I really am playing favorites, aren't I? :D) So the email tells me how well grandma's doing (doing well NOW, anyways - not so much when they told her what they had planned for her) and when he'll be back. He ends the email with (keep in mind what a game-playing dork I am) "Ok, now top ten accomplishments in the last century... you first... ;)"

Yep, I think the decision's already been made, don't you?

last - next


3 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!