current
archives
profile

Friends
poolagirl
supermom3604
biodtl
usmcsis
chaosdaily
apostrophe22
acaldwell
boxx9000
thirdeye7601
witchful

email
notes
host

Ack! It's Friday!
2005-08-26, 10:27 p.m.

Yes, I know to most people that's good news. But not to those of us who start back to work on Monday! Well, the kids won't be there until the following week, and everyone seems to want to feed us at some point during the week, so it shouldn't be too bad. It's always good to go back and see everyone, anyways.

So last night I worked the Papa Roach/311 concert. It was a mostly younger crowd, so the tips weren't that great, but I had a lot of fun. Actually, I shouldn't say the tips weren't that great. I work on a portable with 4 other people. We pool our tips. I, personally, had an awesome night. At least one other person didn't, though, because we ended up with $36 each. I had one $10 tip, one $5, a couple of $3, and several $2.00/$2.50 tips, so I definitely did my part. That's in addition to the .50/1.00 tips most people leave. I don't know who wasn't pulling their weight. Freakin' slackers. I also had a 21 year old try to pick me up, which is probably why I was in such a good mood :). Now granted, he was drunk, but it was still cool. He said he liked older women and asked me if I would go home with him. I told him I couldn't because I was biologically old enough to be his mom, so I would probably get there and bitch about the clothes on his floor and the lack of nutritional content in his fridge & pantry. In the end, his buddy said, "She's not interested in your drunk ass! Let's go watch the show!" I wasn't interested in his drunk anything, thank you, but I was still flattered. And thankful for the friend's intervention. That same friend probably told him today, "Man, I saved your drunk ass last night - you were trying to pick up some old chick!" I don't really care. All that truly matters is he was 21, and he asked me to go home with him. In future retellings of the story, that's all the info I'm giving up. ;)

Today I took my brat to Busch Gardens. I've been in roller coaster withdrawal, so it had to be done. The weather was beautiful, there were no traffic back-ups at all, which seem to plague us every time we go (and me w/ no a/c in the car), and the crowd was pretty small. I think the longest we waited in line for anything was 10 minutes, and that was for the sky lift. Which is, in my opinion, the scariest ride at any theme park. I hate those things.

Ok, so now it's 10:45 and I'm going to bed. I'm helping Bob unpack tomorrow. (I haven't talked to Mike since the shushing.) It's a big day for me. Possibly a major turning point in our relationship. I'm meeting his dog for the first time. :) Wish me luck.

last - next


4 have spoken
adopt your own virtual pet!